four things for the new year

I really enjoyed 2012.  I started a new job in a school I love, established an amazing new group of friends following our move and have settled in a new home nearer the city that backs up onto a stream and woodland.  All in all, I have no complaints.

I do have things I want to work on though so 2013 is going to be my year of four simple goals.

1. Run twice a week

I bought new running shoes a month ago, went out in them once, caught a nasty cold (unrelated I’m sure!) and haven’t been out since.  And it’s stupid really because I love running, or at least the feeling I get after a run.  So I need to start again proper.

2. Master my ukulele finally

I’ve had it for two years and need to crack on with it.  I’ve downloaded Ukuleles for Dummies on my Kindle and am raring to go

3. Make nice things for good people

I won’t lie, when I make things, 9.99 times out of 10 I’m making them for myself.  This year I want to try and make one thing each month for someone else.  And nothing brightens your day like a surprise handmade parcel does it?

4. Save, don’t spend

2013 is the year I start becoming a responsible adult with my money when I save for things I want and pay off any debts I have.  Don’t get me wrong, I;m not a reckless spender, but I can be a bit wanty about things and I often get to the end of the month with nothing but the pennies in my pocket to sustain me.  And this spending covers all areas of my life too; money spent on convenience food rather than cooking from scratch (both at home and work); impulse clothing buys because someone who I think is ace has the same thing; crafty, fabric-y, wool-y things that I never use.  So that last one is actually quite a doozy isn’t it?

Anyway, here’s to a happy and productive 2013.  I’ll be seeing you all.

One thought on “four things for the new year

  1. Becky January 3, 2013 at 4:07 pm Reply

    Those sound like some great goals! Especially the last two, though the last one does sound kind of difficult! Best of luck with it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

